Meet Green, an orangutan and victim of human impact.


Meet Green, an orangutan and victim of human impact. Follow the devastating journey as her home is destroyed by logging, clearing for palm oil plantations, and the choking haze of rainforest fires. Hauntingly poetic and without narration, the film creatively depicts the effects of consumerism on tropical rainforests as we are faced with our personal accountability in the loss of the world’s treasures.

“Green” is about the rainforest of Indonesia.  The film has no narration, it is thus accessible to all nationalities. It was produced  independently by Patrick Rouxel and is free of all commercial or political attachment.

The producers are happy for “Green” to be shared as widely as possibly. If you can – please do so.  It is very important.

Related articles

15 thoughts on “Meet Green, an orangutan and victim of human impact.

  1. Just couldn’t bring myself to watch it, Amelia. Some things just make me so heart sick that I can hardly bear it. Just the thought of it was excruciatinly sad and painful. 😦

  2. The video is traumatising, as it should be – when watching it humans should be made to feel at least a tiny fraction of the pain that any one of those animals felt at losing its home. I was hoping that Green would make it. I should have known that she wouldn’t. What does that say about the future of animals on this planet? What does that say about our own future as a species?

    • I couldn’t agree more with you. This is not for the faint-hearted, but we have done this to them. We should feel ashamed of ourselves and be made to feel the way that they feel. Even though people are finally beginning to realise what is going on regarding the rainforests – they still need to understand what losing them means to all these poor animals; to understand what greed and consumerism have done to them. If I had my way, this video would be in every school across the globe. I had naively hoped Green would make it, too 😦

      • There are many many things I’d put into school curricula if it were up to me… *sigh*

        I guess what struck me about Green’s story was – why was she transported so crudely both times? The first time, those who found her, put her in a bag and let her head loll around in that truck. I wouldn’t be surprised if that didn’t do her permanent brain damage. I thought that they were good Samaritans, so I just found that kind of behaviour strange.

        Then, on her final voyage, they piled her in plastic bags, put her in a wheelbarrow and took her away. It seemed like a lot of time and effort was invested in taking care of her medically, so it seemed a bit insensitive to just dump her like that. I know, and understand, that resources are better used on the living than on the dead, but somehow it seemed incongruous with their previous behaviour.

        • It’s the inconsistencies that are sometimes the hardest to understand, and Green, of course, deserved far better than this. She should have been afforded dignity and respect, even in death. It is all just so terribly heartbreaking.

  3. I’ve watched this before, it is so sad. :*( When are people going to start being ashamed of the horror they cause and commit to changing???

Comments are closed.